HOME
AN AMAZING LEGACY IN STONE
ANTIETAM CREEK
» Leitersburg Bridge No. 2
» Old Forge Bridge
» Funkstown Turnpike Bridge
» Funkstown Bridge No. 2
» Claggett’s Mill Race Bridge
» Claggett’s Mill Bridge
» Rose’s Mill Bridge
» Devil’s Backbone Bridge
» Booth’s Mill Bridge
» Roxbury Mills Bridge
» The Hitt Bridge
» Pry’s Mill Bridge
» Felfoot Bridge
» Burnside Bridge
» Antietam Ironworks Bridge
» Antietam Aqueduct
» The Israel Creek Bridge

CONOCOCHEAGUE CREEK
REQUEST A BROCHURE
CONTACT US

A-2 • Old Forge Bridge | 1863
On Old Forge Road, just West of Route 62, Little Antietam Road

A masterpiece of unique design by W.H. Eierely, the impressive three-arch bridge originally had one arch spanning dry land so cattle could pass from one field to another. Today a sleepy rural area, this site once teemed with industrial activity, with a massive 3-story mill, an iron foundry, and a forge. After crossing it on his retreat from Gettysburg, General Robert E. Lee ordered the then brand-new bridge demolished to slow pursuing Union cavalry. Fortunately for us, his engineers pointed out that with easy fords nearby, the hard-pressed army couldn’t afford the time or the gunpowder to make it worthwhile.
 

Concept and photos by Katherine Campbell Francomano of DoubleDog Productions. Text by Frank Francomano.

| DESIGNED BY: ICON GRAPHICS |