HOME
AN AMAZING LEGACY IN STONE
ANTIETAM CREEK
CONOCOCHEAGUE CREEK
» The Bridge of Price’s Ford
» Broadfording Bridge
» Wilson's Bridge
» The Conococheague Bridge
» The Conococheague Aqueduct

REQUEST A BROCHURE
CONTACT US

C-2 | Broadfording Bridge | 1829
Broadfording Road, West of Route 63

Like its upstream neighbor, this handsome bridge was built by The Lloyds Company of Philadelphia with stone quarried at the Solliday Farm. In the last decade, it has been restored to its former sturdy beauty to carry modern traffic on its original arches that stretch 220 feet, almost the length of a football field. Unique in design, it was built with two long and two shorter arches. Broadfording Road is a natural game path, used first by animals. It was already a very well known “Indian” trail, when in 1747 it was improved as a colonial road.
 

Concept and photos by Katherine Campbell Francomano of DoubleDog Productions. Text by Frank Francomano.

| DESIGNED BY: ICON GRAPHICS |